Japan travel restrictions


Last Updated:(Hong Kong)2021-02-04


Starting from 21 January 2021, Business Track and Residence Track Visa (including single and multiple-entry visas) issued by 8 March 2020 by Japanese Embassies or Consulates General in China (including Hong Kong and Macau) will be suspended, until the state of emergency in Japan is lifted.


Starting from 27 December 2020, all foreigners are not permitted to enter Japan, except:

Japan Citizens (Japan passport holders)

Japan Permanent residents

Foreigners with Japan Visa remarks “EX-R” (Passengers who have travel history in the UK and South Africa in the past 14 days will be denied entry to Japan.)


Foreigners who have visited the following regions within 14 days will be denied entry to Japan, while all nationals entered from the following regions are required to take COVID-19 test upon arrival:


Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, The Philippines


North America

Canada and United States


Latin America and the Caribbean

Argentine, Antigua and Barbuda, Bolivia, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, Chile, Costa Rica, Colombia, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guyana, Guatemala, Grenada, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Suriname, The Bahamas, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela



Azerbaijan, Albania, Armenia, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyz, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg,  Malta, Monaco, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Switzerland, Sweden, Spain, Slovakia, Slovenia, Tajikistan, the United Kingdom, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vatican


Middle East

Afghanistan, United Arab Emirates, Israel, Iraq, Iran, Oman, Qatar, Kuwait, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, Bahrain, Lebanese, Jordan



Algeria, Botswana, Cabo Verde, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Côte d'Ivoire, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Eswatini, Gambia, Ghana, Gabon, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Libya, Liberia, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mauritania, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria,  Republic of South Africa, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tunisia, Union of Comoros, Zambia, Zimbabwe


All nationals arriving from all regions will undergo 14-day self-quarantine at designated places and to refrain from using public transport.


Visa exemption measures with the countries and regions listed below are temporarily suspended:


Bangladesh, Brunei, Cambodia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Korea, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Pakistan, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam


Australia, Nauru, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon

Latin America and the Caribbean

Argentine, Bahamas, Barbados, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay


Andorra, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan, Vatican

Middle East

Israel, Iran, Oman, Qatar, United Arab Emirates


Lesotho, Tunisia


Visa exemptions granted by the Japanese Government to APEC Business Travel Card (ABTC) issued by the following countries and regions is also suspended:

Australia, Brunei, China (including Hong Kong and Taiwan), Indonesia, Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam


New measures for border enforcement during the state of emergency

Starting from 13 January 2021

 All travellers (including Japanese nationals) entering Japan will be required to submit a negative result of pre-entry COVID-19 test conducted within 72 hours before departure until the lifting of the state of emergency.


Starting from 9 January 2021

All travellers (including Japanese nationals) are required to conduct COVID-19 test at the airport upon arrival Japan.

All travellers will undergo self-quarantine at own residence for 14 days and to refrain from using public transport.


Travellers who cannot submit a negative COVID-19 test result will be requested to stay at specific facilities designated by the Chief of the Quarantine Station for three days after arrival.


Those who tested negative for COVID-19 test on the third day are required to self-quarantine at own residence until 14 days after entering Japan.


Special requirement for travellers entering from designated places


Foreigners who have visited the UK and South Africa (Ireland, Israel and Amazonas [Brazil] effective from 5 February 2021) within 14 days will be denied entry to Japan.


Japan Citizens and Residents who have stayed in the above places in the last 14 days should meet the following criteria when entering Japan:

Submit inspection certificate

Submit a negative certificate issued within 72 hours by the local medical institution before departure. Travellers unable to provide an inspection certificate will be sent to a government accommodation to undergo 14 days of quarantine upon arrival.

Quarantine in a government accommodation

Travellers will need to take COVID-19 test at the airport and will be sent to a government accommodation for quarantine.  Travellers tested negative on the third day can continue the remaining of quarantine at home.


Submit written pledge

Travellers are required to submit a written pledge and store their location information by using a map application function and COVID-19 Contact application for 14 days after arrival in Japan. Travellers are not allowed to use public transportation and need to report health conditions by using LINE application.




Hong Kong Airlines staff will perform document checks at the airport to confirm if passengers are eligible to travel to destinations with restrictions in place. Passengers without checked baggage and holding mobile or self-print boarding passes will be subject to document check before boarding.


Passengers will also be asked to declare their travel history over the last 14 days to help us ensure eligibility to travel. It is important that all passengers disclose if they have visited Mainland China during this period.


Hong Kong Airlines offers special waivers for rebooking, rerouting or refund for passengers travelling with confirmed bookings on Hong Kong Airlines (HX) flights to/from these destinations or transiting via Hong Kong. Please refer to our special ticketing arrangements for details.

Select your language and region
Live Chat